Mitigation

How much does acoustic fencing cost in the UK?

5 min read · By Ian Broom, AMIOA (Associate Member, Institute of Acoustics)

Last reviewed:

How much does acoustic fencing cost in the UK?

Published prices vary widely by specification, height and whether fitting is included, and there is no single reliable figure. This page does not give one. It explains what each type of source measures, what moves the price, and what to ask for in a quote. The sources are listed at the foot of the page, so you can read each one's own figures and dates yourself.

Trade blogs and supplier pages are commercial and unaudited, and they do not explain how their figures were arrived at. None of them is a quote. Use them to see the spread, then get written quotes for your own boundary.

What do suppliers list for panels and kits?

Retailer list prices are supply-only: no fitting, no groundworks, and VAT shown or not depending on the page. First Fence, a fencing retailer, lists timber EchoGroove kits per bay, in several heights and bay widths, and its page does not say whether posts are included. It also lists an AcoustiGuard SR1 bay, 2.0 m high, with a steel post included and an average panel weight of 71 kg per square metre. Concrete is required (minimum C20/25) but is not in the kit.

The Jacksons and Gramm websites list no acoustic fencing prices and ask for a quote. A supplier list price should not be read as an installed cost.

What do installed cost guides say?

Installed cost guides quote a price per metre of length, supplied and fitted. Trade2Base, a trade pricing blog (14 June 2026), separates basic boards, mid-range acoustic systems and high-end systems at 1.8 m high, with price rising across that range. It also says that going from 1.8 m to 2.4 m adds 30 to 60% to the metre rate. It does not state whether VAT is included.

The squote knowledge page (last verified 10 May 2026) orders acoustic timber closeboard below composite acoustic panels, and composite below concrete acoustic panels. It does not state a height or VAT basis.

MyBuilder's price guide (undated) gives an average installed price that its own page does not reconcile with its separate installation-only figure, so treat that average with caution. MyJobQuote's question page has answers from tradespeople dated September and October 2026, and they differ noticeably. A 6 ft wooden acoustic fence is priced well below what one tradesperson gives for proper acoustic fencing, and VAT is not mentioned.

What about walls and gabions?

The guides we read price brick walls and steel gabions per metre. squote prices both above its acoustic timber and composite options. The guides do not agree with each other on how brick and gabion compare. squote prices gabion above brick, while Trade2Base prices gabion below double-skin brick. Height and basis differ too, so these numbers cannot be compared line by line.

BestBuilders (30 August 2026) lists foundations and coping as separate items, says brick piers are extra, and says VAT-registered firms add 20%. Trade2Base (8 June 2026) gives prices at 1 m high and says a 2 m wall costs about double. BookABuilder (9 June 2026) prices single-skin brick per square metre of wall, not per metre of length, which is a different unit from the others.

What does an official source show about cost and height?

National Highways' Lower Thames Crossing noise mitigation appendix (October 2022) costs motorway-scale barrier options at 1, 2 and 3 m high. Dividing the option totals by their lengths gives a cost per metre that rises with each extra metre of height. That is our calculation, and these are not garden fence prices. We use them only to show that cost rises with height.

What drives the price?

The sources point to the same handful of things. Height is one: Trade2Base adds 30 to 60% for 2.4 m, and the motorway-scale figures above rise with each extra metre. Panel type is another: squote places timber, composite, concrete, brick and gabion in rising order, but other guides put gabion below brick.

Posts and foundations count too. Trade2Base says taller fences need deeper foundations and heavier posts, and going to 2.4 m or above roughly doubles wind loading. MyBuilder lists setting posts and site preparation as separate items, and BestBuilders lists foundations as a separate item. Access and ground conditions also appear in the guides, and some kits are sold without posts.

What should a quote say?

It may help to ask for a written quote that sets out the panel specification, and, if a sound-insulation claim is made, the tested sound-insulation category and the test report behind it. It could also state the fence height above ground and the length, the post and foundation detail, and what is included and excluded, such as groundworks and removal of an old fence.

You could also ask for VAT to be shown separately, and for the scope of any guarantee, for example whether it covers timber treatment only or also acoustic performance. Several quotes make the spread easier to judge.

How does our barrier report handle cost?

Our barrier report shows indicative costs for modelled barrier options, to discuss with a builder. They are not a quote. The Fence Feasibility Check works from your address and boundary. Before you choose a height, our guide to fence height limits covers the planning limits, and our guide to the best fence or wall for road noise covers what makes a barrier work.

Limits of this evidence

We found no published cost for an earth bund. The cost guides do not say how their figures were made, and most give no height or VAT basis. Prices change, and the figures in the linked sources were read from web pages in 2026.

No price in these sources is tied to a tested acoustic performance, so a higher price does not by itself mean a quieter garden.

Common questions

How much does acoustic fencing cost per metre?

There is no single reliable figure, so this page gives none. Installed guides price per metre and differ widely by height, panel type and whether VAT and groundworks are included. Read each source's own figures and dates, then get written quotes.

Are supplier list prices the same as installed prices?

No. Supplier list prices are supply-only and exclude fitting and groundworks. Installed guides include labour, but their basis varies.

Does a taller acoustic fence cost more?

Yes. Trade2Base says 2.4 m adds 30 to 60% to the metre rate, and the motorway-scale figures from National Highways rise with each extra metre.

Is a brick wall or gabion dearer than an acoustic timber fence?

squote prices brick walls above acoustic timber, but the guides disagree on how gabion compares with brick. Heights and bases differ between sources.

What should I ask for in a quote?

A written quote with the panel specification, tested sound-insulation category if claimed, height, post and foundation detail, VAT and the scope of any guarantee.

Sources

  1. First Fence, EchoGroove acoustic fencing kits (retailer list prices, undated)
  2. First Fence, 2 m high AcoustiGuard SR1 acoustic fencing kit (retailer list price, undated)
  3. Jacksons Fencing, website (manufacturer; no acoustic fencing prices published)
  4. Gramm Barrier Systems, website (manufacturer; quote on request, no prices published)
  5. Trade2Base, Acoustic fencing costs UK, 14 June 2026 (commercial trade blog)
  6. squote, Acoustic fencing and noise barriers, last verified 10 May 2026 (commercial)
  7. MyBuilder, Soundproof fence cost guide, undated (commercial)
  8. MyJobQuote, Soundproof fence cost per metre, answers dated September to October 2026 (commercial; tradesperson replies)
  9. BestBuilders, Garden wall cost UK, updated 30 August 2026 (commercial)
  10. Trade2Base, Boundary wall costs UK, 8 June 2026 (commercial trade blog)
  11. BookABuilder, Garden wall cost: brick, block, stone, 9 June 2026 (commercial)
  12. National Highways, Lower Thames Crossing Environmental Statement Appendix 12.10, Road Traffic Noise Mitigation and Cost Benefit Analysis, October 2022

Check my property →

Not sure what to look for at your own address? Is this address noisy? What to check first →

Related guides

Related local pages